profile image - pencil sketch of a man with grey hair and beard seated next to a small table. The man is reading a book and there is a glass of red wine on the table A twitter of inconsequent vitality
Ian Mason | @thedimpause

Xmas Dinner 2022

I know I’m composing this post a few days late, on the morning of New Year’s Eve, 31st December 2022, but for my reference I do want a record of the food I cooked for this year’s Christmas dinner.

Most years I cook Christmas dinner around a specific theme (often a nationality) or from a particular (often new) cookery book. This year our meal was based on Afro Vegan: Family recipes from a British-Nigerian kitchen by Zoe Alakija.

Cover of cookery book titled Afro Vegan

Starters were

  • Lebanese-Nigerian Roast Chickpea Shawarma
  • Smoky Cashew and Beetroot Dip
Dining table with small plates of food

and mains

  • Classic Jollof Rice
  • Groundnut Stew with Sweet Potato
  • Efo Riro (Stewed Greens)
  • Suya-Battered Vegetable Kebabs
  • Eba
Dining table set for four filled with numerous plates and pots of food

The only slight disappointment was the eba - small starchy balls of dough made from garri flour (cassava). I’d never cooked with the flour before and think I got the consistency wrong - too soft and sticky.

Cooking all that was a lot of work for a relaxed family meal for just the four of us. We certainly didn’t eat everything - leftovers were contributed to a much larger Boxing Day family meal at my brother-in-law’s farm.

This was the first time I’d cooked from Afro Vegan - I will certainly be trying out more recipes from it.


💬 on Micro.blog

Posted on | 🏷 Photography 🏷 Books 🏷 Food

← Older Newer →
Follow me via Micro.blog, email or RSS | More links at ian.omg.lol


Tinylytics 🕸️💍
IndieWeb 🕸💍

Want to help support this site? Buy me an espresso 👇 or take a look at my ebooks 📕

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

👀